Banyule Award for Works on Paper

The Banyule Award for Works on Paper is awarded biennially to an outstanding contemporary work on paper. It is open to all Australian artists. The award is an acquisitive prize, with the winning artwork entered into the Banyule Art Collection.

Artists are invited to respond to a theme, and can submit work in any medium, as long as it is made on, or with paper paper.

This is a selective process, with the finalists' exhibition held at Hatch Contemporary Artspace, Ivanhoe.

Banyule Award for Works on Paper 2019

We received an overwhelming 439 entries to the 2019 Banyule Award for Works on Paper.

Thank you to everyone who entered. Your participation has allowed us to curate a truly amazing finalists’ exhibition from an incredible sample of works by artists from all around Australia.

Winner of the 2019 Banyule Award for Works on Paper $10,000 Acquisitive Prize is Robert Fielding, Ngapartji-Ngapartji (2017).

Robert Fielding, Ngapartji Ngapartji
  • 1st Commendation Prize ($1,000) is Annika Romeyn, Verge 2 (2018)
  • 2nd Commendation Prize ($500) is Jazmina Cininas, Gone Star Fishing (2019)

Winner of the Environment Award ($1,000) is Stefan Gevers, Waterworld (2018).

Winner of the Youth 1st Prize ($500) is Isabella O’Leary, existentia, cycli (2019).

  • Youth 2nd Prize ($300) is Ryan Pola, Tide Reflections (2018)
  • Youth 3rd Prize ($200) is Sarah Plummer, Adelaide Wheatfields (2017)

Winner of the People's Choice Award is Maria Zeiss, Remember me? I am your Son (2019).

Remember me? I am your Son by Maria Zeiss

Theme: Threshold

The world stands at the threshold of change: for better or worse, it's up to us.
The theme for the award this year calls on artists to submit artworks that express, explore, advocate, or address current social, cultural, political or environmental issues.


Congratulations to all our finalists, and good luck!

  • Julianne Ross ALLCORN
  • Avan ANWAR
  • Rosalind ATKINS
  • Lee BETHEL
  • Wendy BLACK
  • Lynne BOYD
  • Honor BRADBEER
  • Georgina CAMPBELL
  • Jazmina CININAS
  • Shelley COWPER
  • Chelle DESTEFANO
  • Mark DOBER
  • Lesley DUXBURY
  • Liss FENWICK
  • Robert FIELDING
  • Louise FOLETTA
  • David FRAZER
  • Stefan GEVERS
  • Siri HAYES
  • Anna HOYLE
  • Alun Rhys JONES
  • Paul KALEMBA
  • Penelope LE PETIT
  • Tania MASON
  • Louise MORGAN
  • Harry NANKIN
  • Catherine O’DONNELL
  • Chris ORR
  • Glenda ORR
  • Alison ROBINSON
  • Annika ROMEYN
  • Valerie SPARKS
  • Cyrus TANG
  • Mary-Jane WALKER
  • Yandell WALTON
  • Paul WHITE
  • Maria ZEISS

Prize pool

Main acquisitive prize


Commendation prize

$1,000 (non-acquisitive)

People's choice award

$1,000 (non-acquisitive)

Youth prize

For artists aged 16-25

  • 1st $500
  • 2nd $300
  • 3rd $200

Environment prize

$1,000 just added!

Past exhibitions

Contact us

To find out more contact us via email