Banyule wards

Banyule is currently divided into 7 single councillor wards.

From 24 October 2020, and in line with the state-wide council elections, Banyule will become a 9 ward council.

Which ward?

Refer to the map on this page to get a overview of the area covered by each ward.

For property specific ward details, especially if you're close to a ward boundary, use the Victorian Electoral Commission: interactive map tool.

Banyule wards: location, characteristics and origins

Ward changes

In 2019-2020, the Victoria Electoral Commission (VEC) conducted reviews of councils' electoral structures to ensure voters continue to be fairly represented. These are known as representation reviews .

By law, every council must be reviewed every 12 years.

In 2019, after consultation with the community, the VEC recommended that we increase to 9 single councillor wards. View the VEC's recommended structure.

The Victorian Government announced the VEC recommended structure was accepted and publish so in the Government Gazzette on 23 April 2020.

Meet the councillors Learn about elections and becoming a councillor