Banyule Logo
Text Size:

About Banyule

The 21 suburbs of Banyule City lay on 63 square kilometres between 7 and 21 kilometres north-east of central Melbourne. The Yarra River runs along the City’s south border while the west is defined by Darebin Creek.

Banyule has plenty of open spaces and parklands, especially along the Yarra and Plenty River valleys. There are 617 hectares of open space owned by the City, as well as substantial areas of parkland managed by Parks Victoria. These provide a wealth of recreational, environmental and tourism opportunities for the region.

There are sites of botanical, zoological, habitat and heritage significance, including aboriginal archaeological sites and scar trees, and points of interest associated with the Heidelberg School of Artists.

Banyule is renowned for native vegetation flourishes in the east and north-east, while exotic trees and shrubs dominate the City’s southern and western parts.

The city is primarily a residential area and retaining the character of these individual neighbourhoods is important to the local community.

There are industrial areas in Heidelberg West, Greensborough/Briar Hill and Bundoora, as well as institutions such as the Austin and Repatriation Medical Centre and Simpson Army Barracks. Banyule also has a range of educational, health and leisure facilities.

Banyule is the active resident’s dream place to live, with many excellent community leisure facilities.

Cycling and walking through Banyule is a popular pastime, made enjoyable by the many kilometres of bicycle and pedestrian trails throughout the city, particularly along the Yarra and Plenty Rivers and the Darebin Creek.

Banyule's 21 suburbs are:

  • Bellfield 3081
  • Briar Hill 3088
  • Bundoora 3083 (shared with City of Darebin and City of Whittlesea)
  • Eaglemont 3084
  • Eltham 3095 (shared with Shire of Nillumbik) 
  • Eltham North 3095 (shared with Shire of Nillumbik)
  • Greensborough 3088 (shared with Shire of Nillumbik)
  • Heidelberg 3084
  • Heidelberg Heights 3081
  • Heidelberg West 3081
  • Ivanhoe 3079
  • Ivanhoe East 3079
  • Lower Plenty 3093
  • Macleod 3085 (shared with City of Darebin)
  • Montmorency 3094
  • Rosanna 3084
  • St Helena 3088
  • Viewbank 3084
  • Watsonia 3087
  • Watsonia North 3087
  • Yallambie 3085